Skip to content

Problems in MacBook Pro Due to Poor Quality

April 9, 2010
tags:

Green Macbook Pro

That happened on the evening of March 6 2010. When I was surfing the web, I noticed that my MacBook Pro was very hot. Then suddenly the screen showed some greenish and then froze. I forcefully shut it down and restarted it. During the startup, the apple looked green and then with green-striped screen it said: “You need to restart your computer…” in four languages.

I repeated the restart and saw the same message again and again. Only once I did go into the system but within minutes it froze in green again.

Next day I sent for the repair via the reseller store, which turned out a mistake for me. The reseller would add their “service fee” on top of the repair charge, even though they did nothing except calling the repair company to pick up the machine.

Initially I was told that the video card is dead and I could get the repair for free. That’s OK, though I think Apple should make the recall (MacBook Pro: Distorted video or no video issues).

Later, after replacing the video card, the engineer found the I/O board on the left was broken also. But that I needed to pay for the repair.

Why was this I/O board broken? Was that caused by the failed graphic processor? Or, vice versa. I asked Apple for explanation but only got the reply saying that the broken I/O board is not related to the video-card failure.

So, these two units just happened to be out of order at the same time?

I have owned few laptops and only this MacBook Pro gives me hardware problems. The battery was completely dead right after one year. Not less battery life but completely dead. In 2.5 years, the graphic card and the I/O board were dead too.

Come on, my first laptop bought in 2002 Feb is still working without problem (only the LCD screen is quite dim). What kind of quality does Apple offer in their products?

Recently, after a long time, they finally have admitted the problem in the hard drives (Apple cops to defective MacBook drives) for certain MacBook machines from 2006 and 2007. Maybe my broken I/O board is also defective.

Will not buy another Apple laptops or machines. I’m done with that.👿

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 11:32 am

    I have had issues with every Apple product I have purchased. I had one of those MacBooks you mentioned, and I’m currently on my third hard drive. But I will say that the Apple Store replaced the two that failed, never charged me a dime, and repaired it the same day I took it in. In fact, they replaced my last drive even though my laptop was two years past it’s warranty. So I sorta have a love-hate relationship with Apple right now. Things always break down on me (usually right after the first year), but they have been good about fixing things. Plus, it’s hard to go to Windows or Linux after having used OS X. haha.

    By the way, my Apple TV is only 14 months old, and the hard drive just failed. Geez.

  2. Tim Thompson permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:32 pm

    Thanks for this post. It helped me identify the problems with the NVIDIA graphics processor on my MacBook Pro.

  3. Johan Krüger-Haglert permalink
    December 9, 2010 2:55 am

    I may have the same version, late 2007, 2.2GHz.

    Bought it with low VRAM even though I didn’t wanted to because I didn’t wanted to pay the huge premium for 128 MB more VRAM. Apple suck.

    Anyway, had GPU issues aswell and tried to submit for warranty replacement/repair the 27th (?) aug 2008, got a notice about how I was out of warranty? Even though I think it was delivered the 1th sep 2007.

    Since one year passed I didn’t rushed with it (three year consumer protection for manufacturing faults here in Sweden anyway.) Half a year later the magsafe connector cable totally gave up, didn’t got a very promising response from the new store in town and didn’t wanted to buy a new power adapter so it’s been resting on a shelf for 1.5 year now.

    Mailed them just before three years (actually called) and felt very annoyed and go a very unsympathetic response and was told to talk to the company in the town instead since they are an authorized retailer or service partner or whatever. Mailed them before three years had passed, one guy from there called me up but after three years had passed and said that “it was over three years”, no shit. But I don’t want to have to deal with all crap like this. They should just had accepted the warranty complaint on the webpage in the first place.

    Anyway I lend it in this Monday but didn’t told them what my issues was back then but would do so later. Got an e-mail how my left io board was broken (something I’ve never noticed myself, charger work like crap though, maybe the broken charger has killed the board? Hard to see how that’s _MY_ problem since Apple is the one releasing shitty products at über-premium prices) and also how my power button supposedly where “starting to fail”, something I haven’t noticed either.

    No mentioning regarding the GPU.

    Should I had lend it in earlier? Yeah, totally. But there was no store in my city back then and their fucking webpage didn’t let me to. I mailed them a long mail with all the issues but only got a reply with their phone numbers. But I hate talking about shit like this on the phone.

    Personally I’m an Amiga guy who used Linux and BSD before the mac. I’m fully capable of running a hack and maybe that’s what I will do. The reason I actually bought a mac is because I think it’s OK to support them for their OS and to make everything work. But it was totally not worth it =P

    Apple as company suck, the spec suck, the vendor lock-in suck.

    I would probably rather run FreeBSD with KDE in general but want commercial applications. OS X has them and in a mixture with some “personal style” computing. Obviously Windows have them to, with much better prices and options but maybe less personalization. Much better for gaming though.

    Windows + FreeBSD work to. Dunno where I’ll go. Aslong as the game work for OS X probably OS X hack and maybe OS X + FreeBSD.

    Will see how this is solved, or most likely not. Suck to not have used the computer in 1.5 year considering how fucking expensive they are.

    2.2 GHz Macbook Pro where 19995 SEK back then or something such, today:
    19 995 Swedish kronor = 2 917.95033 U.S. dollars

  4. Johan Krüger-Haglert permalink
    December 9, 2010 2:56 am

    stormko: Guess you live in the US. Apple with Apple stores is most likely a much different experience than Apple web shopping with no local business partner or even better Apple themselves.

  5. raul permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:45 pm

    I bought my MAcbook pro on October 2007. Last week I had the same problem.
    So.. I just take my mac to an apple store and they will fix it for free????

    • December 27, 2010 3:27 pm

      I’m not sure. They need to check which part caused the problem. In my case, I didn’t get the free repair.

Trackbacks

  1. The Story of Electronics – Designed for the Dump « Entangled

Leave a Reply

