Skip to content

Linn Will End the CD Player Production

November 22, 2009

Just heard this from BBC News:

Linn Products has become the first manufacturer to announce it will give up on CDs from the start of next year.

Instead, the niche company, based in East Renfrewshire, will focus on producing digital streaming equipment.

I wonder when other companies will follow suit.😕 Won’t take long, I guess.

It claims that a CD recorded onto a hard disk can achieve a higher quality than one played on a CD player.

I agree, as long as the content is stored as the lossless format. They are all digital. Therefore, the important thing is to have a decent DAC (digital-analog converter), before feeding the signal to the amplifier and then speakers. Let’s not scarify the sound quality over the convenience any more.

See also “BBC Blind Test on CD vs iPod“.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Orange permalink
    November 24, 2009 4:40 pm

    another formate evolution? poor me, always an in-between generation.

    • November 25, 2009 12:39 am

      Uh.. LP/tape or tape/CD?😉

      I finally decided to buy a USB DAC + headphone amp. Considering how long I listen to music (in flac) in my PC at work, I should have a better sound, not the one from cheap PC speakers. I even upgrade my headphone.🙂

Leave a Reply

