Skip to content

Fritz Wunderlich’s Singing

November 20, 2009
tags:

The following song is in Disc 7 of DG’s The Art of Fritz Wunderlich in my recent purchase. I immediately remember the tune, because it’s after Dvořák’s Humoresques Op. 101 No. 7.

Eine kleine Frühlingsweise; Lyrics by Hans Lengsfelder.

It’s very beautiful, isn’t it?

You can listen to this arrangement for viola (Elias Goldstein) and piano (Monica Pavel). (Ogg file, which can be played in Firefox, Media Player Classic or VLC. In Firefox you need to allow the javascript).

I first heard of Wunderlich’s singing in these two CDs: one is included in The Art of Fritz Wunderlich (Schuman’s Dichterliebe and Lieder from Beethoven & Schubert) as Disc 5, and the other is Schuber’s Die schone Mullerin. At that time, I was still a college student and spent most of my food money on buying classical-music CDs. I had quite a big collection but I wasn’t really into songs or opera. These two CDs were the ones of few I had and enjoyed a lot.

Disc 6 of this Wunderlich collection includes some popular songs from various areas. “Be My Love” is the only one in English. Compare Wunderlich with Mario Lanza.

Toscanini called Mario Lanza “the greatest voice of the twentieth century”. To me, it’s Wunderlich. Too bad that he died so young.😦

As for The Art of Fritz Wunderlich, unless you already have many of his DG recordings, you shouldn’t miss it. Highly recommended.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

