Skip to content

Saving Tips for Online Book Buying

November 10, 2009

Digital Inspiration lists some resources and tips to buy books online. Here I add my experiences on book buying in addition to DI’s tips.

1. Online Bookstores

  • Amazon: Even though for international buyers, sometimes it is still a good deal to buy from Amazon, because it offers larger discounts in general and usually has the books you’re looking for. Besides, the shipping per package for books is reduced from $6.99 to $4.99 for a while.
  • AbeBooks: Especially good if you don’t mind the book is used. You just have to choose some bookstores with better rating. I even noted the bookstores I had good experiences with (e.g. fast shipping etc). I sometimes even order from Abebooks.uk.
  • Book Depository: This bookstore offers free shipping in many countries. Sometimes you’ll find some good deals.
  • BetterWorld: I mentioned this before, but it has changed since then. It now offers choices of buying books from small bookstores, just like Amazon’s Marketplace or Abebooks. This is not good for me since the international shipping is much higher than the one if you buy directly from BetterWorld.
  • A1books: I made few purchases there, and I’m quite satisfied with the book condition when buying directly from A1books (not through the individual bookstores there).

2. Book Price Comparing

  • BookFinder: I like its interface and sometimes their blog has interesting news regarding book market.
  • AddAll: Since I started to use BookFinder, I seldom use this. [Update: now AddAll can search ebooks too. Nice!]

3. Book Coupons:

  • FatWallet: I did get some cashbacks from using the links provided by this site. A little is still something.đŸ™‚

For tips on reading books online and buying/renting college textbooks, check with Digital Inspiration’s article.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

