Skip to content

Tune that Brings back Memories – Oblivion by Piazzolla

May 11, 2009

I was listening to my new CD “Argerich and Friends – Live from the Lugano Festival 2008“, and then a familiar tune (excerpt only) came out. It’s Oblivion by Astor Piazzolla, played by Eduardo Hubert and Martha Argerich.

Where did I hear it? I wondered. A movie… yes, an Italian movie, but I couldn’t remember the title (how typical of me๐Ÿ˜› ).

So, I googled it with these keywords, and a review from Amazon told me the answer. It’s from La meglio gioventu (2003) (aka The Best of Youth), a 6-hour long film. You won’t forget this music after watching this film.

While I looked for the answer, I also noticed that there are many adaptions of this work, which you can find in YouTube. For instance, this cello version:

But the two-piano version, transcribed by Eduardo Hubert, gives me a different kind of feelings. You better hear the whole piece from the CD, which also includes another Libertango.

Here is the version performed by Astor Piazzolla (bandoneon solo) and orchestra (same in the soundtracks):

Vodpod videos no longer available.

(Oops. Bad link)

Related:

Leave a Reply

