Skip to content

Domingo and Bocelli Talked about Opera

November 22, 2008
tags:

In the interview with NPR’s host , Robert Siegel, Domingo and Bocelli, who are performing together for the first time in Washington, D.C., talked about the impact they have on the younger generation.

“The popularity of Andrea and the Three Tenors,” Domingo says, “yes, we are responsible for bringing more people to the opera, and that’s very important.”

“There are two kinds of people who do not go to the opera: those who can’t afford it and those who are uninterested,” he adds. “They say, ‘No, it’s boring.’ No. If you see opera properly, and you hear great singers, you are going to love it.”

Well, I’m not so sure about the last statement. I have recently started to listen opera, but it’s not because of them, though I did have the first CD of Three Tenors and few CDs of opera aria collections in the past. It’s just that, after listening to classical music more than 10 years, I wanted to expand my own repertoire. Since I still cannot get into pre-Mozart and -Bach era, and have not much love for post-1950 music, I switched my attention to opera.

Even though I started to enjoy listening to opera, it doesn’t mean that I would like to see it on stage. I like the music and the singing parts, but not the acting, which is still a little bit drag to my taste.

Siegel also asked them about iPod. Younger Bocelli embraces it but Domingo is scared of it. One thing he doesn’t like is to putting the little loudspeakers so close to his eardrums — I also don’t like that; the other is

“I’m very happy that people can put so much music in such a little thing, but it scares me so much,” Domingo says. “I’ve been recording for 40 years now; how is it possible that my whole career can be in a little thing like this?”

Almost 50 years ago, Feynmann already talked about such a possibility, “Plenty Room in the Bottom”. It shouldn’t be a big surprise or fear today.😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

