Skip to content

Weave – Mozilla Browser Syncing Tool

July 2, 2008
tags: ,

Mozilla Labs recently released Weave 0.2, a Firefox add-on which backups and synchronizes the browser settings and metadata between different machines and the server. Currently it covers bookmarks, browsing history, cookies, tabs and two experimental features, save passwords & saved form data.

I first heard of this add-on last year, but I didn’t give a serious thought. Besides, I could use MozBackup even though it’s not automatic. After reading the introduction on Lifehacker of the new version, I installed Weave on my office PC and later the portable Firefox to see whether it works.

During the installation on the office PC, I chose only bookmarks, browsing history and cookies (the default option includes Tabs). Though the fist synchronization between the office PC and the server was all right (slower than what I’d like), the first run on the portable Firefox failed, hanging during its first synchronization with the server. I closed and restarted Firefox more than twice and still couldn’t make it work. I then uninstalled this add-on from both the desktop and the portable Firefox.

Weave is still in the experimental stage. Maybe I’d give it another try later, after the synchronization becomes smoother. 😐

One Comment leave one →
  1. Moonshine Mike permalink
    July 7, 2008 3:34 pm

    I’ve had sync problems, and it takes logging out of all machines, then logging in with one, seeing if it works, etc. I eventually got it flowing again, but it’s very very twisted.

    I’d like better syncing, so when I stay logged in at home, it doesn’t break at work.

Leave a Reply

