Skip to content

11 Best Foods You Should Eat

July 1, 2008

Tara Parkeer-Pope from New York Times lists the 11 best food you should eat but aren’t based on Dr. Bowden’s suggestion:

  1. Beets: “a rich source of folate as well as natural red pigments that may be cancer fighters.”
  2. Cabbages: “with nutrients like sulforaphane, a chemical said to boost cancer-fighting enzymes.”
  3. Swiss chard: “packed with carotenoids that protect aging eyes.”
  4. Cinnamon: “helps control blood sugar and cholesterol.”
  5. Pomergranate juice: lowering “blood pressure and loaded with vitamin C and other antioxidants.”
  6. Dried plums: prunes in fact; “packed with cancer-fighting antioxidants.”
  7. Pumpkin seeds: “packed with magnesium; high levels of the mineral are associated with lower risk for early death.”
  8. Sardines: “health food in a can”; high in omega-3’s, virtually without mercury, and containing calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper and manganese as well as a full complement of B vitamins.
  9. Turmeric: having “anti-inflammatory and anti-cancer properties.”
  10. Frozen blueberries: “associated with better memory in animal studies.”
  11. Canned pumpkin: “high in fiber and immune-stimulating vitamin”; low-calorie.

Well, here it’s hard to find #1, #3, unless in can. I like cabbage (asian style; with a little bit hot chilies & vinegar), dried plums (though haven’t had it for a while), blueberries (but very expansive here), and pumpkin (like the ones in Japan; you can eat it with skins on). Cinnamon on my coffee? Uh!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Wildlx permalink
    July 2, 2008 7:16 am

    Actually , missing #3 won’t be bad because, as shown recently in some clinical trials, too much carotenoids are not good, quite the contrary.
    Sardines are very popular here, specially in summer where we eat them grilled.
    I have to recommend to you cinnamon in the coffee. Actually, it is good! One of the good things I learned from my Brazilian gf ;). Alternatively, instead of cinnamon in powder, you can use some cinnamon sticks instead of a spoon in your coffee.

  2. July 3, 2008 11:33 pm

    Thanks for the list… I like these foods, but I some I rarely eat, although I can say sardines are one of my favourite picnic lunches — they provide lots of energy on the hiking trail.

    And, weirdly enough, this is the second time this morning that I’ve read good things about cinnamon. Did you know it also deters fire ants?

  3. July 4, 2008 8:47 am

    wildlx:

    Good to hear that missing #3 isn’t too bad. To be frank, I don’t like it much. 🙂

    Hmm… I might try cinnamon … I have a bottle of cinnamon powder in my dry box for a long time (though about making bread with it).

    eyegillian:

    Really? Then I should try to spread some on my legs when going hiking. Can it deters mosquitoes too? 😛

Leave a Reply

