Skip to content

Alternatives to iTunes for Managing your iPod

July 10, 2007

Simplehelp suggests 10 alternative softwares to managing your iPod, each one with a how-to tutorial. The list includes:

  • Amarok
  • Banshee
  • Floola
  • gtkpod
  • MediaMonkey
  • Rhythmbox
  • SharePod
  • Songbird
  • Winamp
  • YamiPod

No foobar2000? Well, there is a 3rd-party plug-in to use foobar with iPod,
foo_dop (official website & wiki), but this plug-in is still in experimental phase. Since it’s close-sourced, there is little progress to make it better. Tinkafoo.com even put it bluntly in the last update in Feb. 2007, “foo_pod is officially on my “Not Recommend” list.”

foobar2000 is currently my choice for my CD collection/music library (just finished the opera part, about 1/20 of my collection, maybe?). Well, without proper plug-in for iPod isn’t a big deal to me, because I don’t own an iPod or other similar portable player. 😛 Most of time I listen to music from my PC in the office or my audio system at home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nephilm permalink
    December 25, 2007 8:40 am

    foo_dop is not foo_pod.

    foo_dop is still in early stages of development, and has few features.

    foo_pod development halted, as tinkafoo.com mentions.

Leave a Reply

