Skip to content

Some of My Favorite Illustration Books

November 14, 2006

I like reading children books. Blush My litter sister is 12 years younger than I am. When she was little and I was already big, I took her with me to my favorite bookstore. She read her children books, and I read mine (for adults or children).

Here are some of my favorites illustration books (but not limited to)

* The Missing Piece by Shel Silverstein * The Missing Piece Meets the Big O by Shel Silverstein

These two books are not the regular children illustration books. One can tell the stories differently based on his/her interpretations. Once I ordered two sent to my adviser’s house so that I could get them to my friend’s daughter while visiting my university. My adviser and his wife read the books (I let them) and has some discussion. I didn’t know their discussion and only mentioned that I felt like the missing piece in some way.

* The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scieszka, Lane Smith (Illustrator)

I discovered these two while taking my little sister to the bookstore. It’s a collection of twisted, humorous parodies of famous children’s stories and fairy tales. The book was crafted so well that even the content page, acknowledgment, and the blurb etc can make you ROFL . This led me to look for more books from them, e.g.

* The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka, Lane Smith (Illustrator)

* Gnomes by Rien Poortvliet, Wil Huygen (Illustrator)
When I first discovered Gnomes, I thought, “WOW, Gnomes are real. Why don’t I know it?”. I was studying in the high school at that time. oopsie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

