Skip to content

DVD Review: My Mother Likes Woman

September 1, 2006

I read the review of this movie by AfterEllen, not a very postive review, but I was still curious about this movie, partially because this is a Spanish movie and I want to know about lesbian-theme movies outside US. The other review I could find is from dvdinfo.be, which gave the film the rating of 7 out of 10. So, when I spotted the Korean release that was much cheaper than R1, I thought I would give it a try.

A mi madre le gustan las mujeres (2002) (aka My Mother Likes Woman)


# Screen : Anamorphic Widescreen 1.85:1, Color, NTSC
# Audio : Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround
# Subtitle : English, Korean
# Dubbing : Spanish
# DVD: SS/SL
Got it for $8.03 at DVDHeaven shipping (April, 2006)
(Note: the spec is different from the Benelux release that has DD2 & 1.33:1 PAL — either full screen or letterboxed wide screen, DVD in SS/DL)I don’t understand Korean, but I didn’t have problem to navigate this DVD.

Main Menu
Main Menu

I don’t like the menu design. This pink … 😐

Audio & Subtitles
Audio & Subtitles

Chapters
Special Features

Special Features

“Video Clip” is like the MTV

“Promotion” could be the test screening, as you can see people filling some questionnaire and being interviewed.

Snapshots

Because the DVD is only in SL, the image quality isn’t very good but is OK. I don’t have R1 for comparison (or R2). As for the movie itself, I know what I expected so I wasn’t disappointed and I did lol for some parts. I think this was not made for the lesbian audience.By the way, I like Elisaka. πŸ™‚ (as for girls like “Elvira” .. πŸ™„ )

[the information here was originally posted in AfterEllen forum on Apr 29, 2006]

One Comment leave one →
  1. emily permalink
    March 26, 2009 8:25 am

    two nice movies on lesbian relationships are The World Unseen and I Can’t Think Straight.

Leave a Reply

