Skip to content

Installation of MiKTex 2.8 Failed (Solved)

September 18, 2009
tags:

Just noticed that MikTeK 2.8 is now available for download. However, I had problem in installation of this latest version.

Error message in the installation log file (setup-2.8.3541.exe) said:
“C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.8\miktex\bin\initexmf.exe” –register-shell-file-types –admin –log-file=”C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.8\miktex\config\uninst.log” –verbose:
initexmf.exe: Windows API error 5: Access is denied. initexmf.exe: Data: Software\Classes\.pdf\OpenWithProgIds

An error occurred:
source file: Libraries\MiKTeX\Core\Process.cpp
source line: 296
message: The operation failed for some reason.
info: C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.8\miktex\bin\initexmf.exe

I tried to look for the solution over the net. Though several the installation problems have been reported (related to registry writing), I didn’t find any useful information about my installation problem.

I uninstalled 2.7 and thought it’d help (because of confliction or something like that). But it didn’t. I had to reinstalled 2.7 and added some packages manually. :(

Probably you can finish the installation by running some command-line programs, but I don’t know how. So, I just removed the files of version 2.8 manually. Check later for the debugged setup program.

Possible Solution:

As in Peter’s comment below, it seems that there’s conflict between Adobe Reader and MiKTeX 2.8. I followed his suggestion: uninstall Adobe Reader and restart, and then install MiKTeX. Voilà, it worked!.

BTW I haven’t used Adobe Reader for a while. Foxit Reader is currently my default reader (but I am also interested in PDF-XChange Viewer Portable). Notice that Foxit Reader doesn’t conflict with the MiKTeX 2.8 installer.

Update on 03/10/2010:

MiKTex 2.8 is installed successfully in my new Windows 7 PC.

Update on 03/28/2010:

See the solution provided in the comment.

Update on 11/13/2010:

I installed MiKTeX 2.8 in MacBook Pro’s Bootcamp (with Win XP SP3) without any problem. Note that I don’t use Acrobat Reader. Upgrading from 2.8 to 2.9 was also smooth process.

57 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:05 pm

    I have got the exactly same error.
    On the link you give, there is new installer “setup-2.8.3553.exe”.
    I will try it and will write the results. :)

  2. Peter permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:08 am

    The new installer does not solve this issue.
    The issue is with Adobe Reader. Uninstal Adobe Reader, install MiKTeX, install Adobe Reader.
    This worked for me. :)

    • September 25, 2009 6:57 am

      Thanks for the info, Peter. :) I’ll give it a try later and report it back.

  3. Abegrall permalink
    October 2, 2009 11:17 pm

    I have the same error but Adobe Reader is not installed on my computer. Any idea ?

    Thanks !

    • October 2, 2009 11:22 pm

      Sorry. I don’t know what else conflicts with the installer. The above method isn’t a complete solution. I hope MikTex team will give us the problem-free installer soon.
      PS: What kind of PDF reader you use? Would uninstall & reinstall it help?

  4. Abegrall permalink
    October 2, 2009 11:38 pm

    I use FoxitReader but uninstalling it didn’t change anything.

    • October 3, 2009 6:15 pm

      Hm.. then I don’t know what the cause is. Hope you can solve this soon.

      • Abegrall permalink
        October 19, 2009 4:59 pm

        Installing MikTex 2.6 is the only solution I have found…

      • October 19, 2009 5:21 pm

        You can’t even install MikTex 2.7?

      • Abegrall permalink
        October 20, 2009 4:19 am

        no, I have exactly the same error…

      • October 20, 2009 7:41 am

        I’m sorry for your problem. Kind of frustrated, isn’t it? It’s difficult to tell what really went wrong. If you can access to another computer or laptop, you can try to install there and see what happen. How about MiKTeX Portable?

        By the way, your system is not Win 98/Me, right?

      • Abegrall permalink
        October 20, 2009 4:07 pm

        Miktex Portable didn’t change anything. I have no problem on my other computer…

        My system is Win XP SP3.

  5. udita permalink
    March 14, 2010 12:06 pm

    First let me thank Wildeny for the possible solution. I had exactly the same problem. I have been trying all sort of methods: registry cleaning, changing the folder as read/write.

    But the problem was due to a conflict with Adobe reader. So I uninstalled Adobe Reader and then ran the MikteX 2.8 setup. Everything worked as a surprise. Thanks again.

    • March 14, 2010 6:51 pm

      That’s great.

      In my new PC with Windows 7, I don’t have Acrobat reader installed at all.

  6. Solution permalink
    March 28, 2010 9:47 pm

    I have got the real solution :)
    Run regedt32.exe, then navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.pdf
    Rightclick .pdf, click permissions, and grant the administrator full rights.

    • Eugen permalink
      June 3, 2010 1:02 am

      Thank you. It worked. :)))

    • Orestis permalink
      November 6, 2010 9:24 am

      Excellent, Thank you!

    • brando permalink
      May 20, 2011 6:21 pm

      SWEET! thanks…. have been trying to install miktex for 2 days now…finally installed no errors!

    • KAren Davie permalink
      June 23, 2013 2:35 am

      I tried to give admin permission. does not work.
      Get mesg about invalid package archive file
      pls help

      Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
      Application Name: basic-miktex-2.9.4813-x64.exe
      Application Version: 2.9.4503.0
      Application Timestamp: 4f9ee0f3
      Fault Module Name: basic-miktex-2.9.4813-x64.exe
      Fault Module Version: 2.9.4503.0
      Fault Module Timestamp: 4f9ee0f3
      Exception Code: c0000005
      Exception Offset: 000000000001fb4e
      OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
      Locale ID: 1033
      Additional Information 1: b763
      Additional Information 2: b763ce131d696c1311e09292a74d9856
      Additional Information 3: 6ee9
      Additional Information 4: 6ee9b515e41249dd4628ece349bea258

      • June 23, 2013 3:17 am

        Sorry. Didn’t have this problem, so can’t help.

  7. Kenny permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:22 pm

    Oh My God, Thanks so much for this information. I have been trying to install MiKTeX2.8 for a couple of days now and constantly getting this error. The Help forum of MiKTeX did not help me one bit. After I went into the registry and changed the permissions, it installed succesfully.

    Thanks a lot!

    • April 23, 2010 10:42 pm

      Glad that you finally made it installed. :)

      • May 3, 2010 2:19 am

        Awesome. This makes my day. Thanks wildeny

  8. May 7, 2010 4:57 am

    Hi everyone,
    I am facing a problem when i try to install miktex 2.8
    the problem is the place that i choose to store the programme always giving an error
    can anyone help?
    thanx

    • May 7, 2010 6:57 am

      It’s not clear about your problem. Do you have administrator permission to install the software?

  9. Ursulet permalink
    June 29, 2010 6:57 am

    Alelujah a solution… I really need that miktex instaled so thx for the tip with the registry ^^

  10. ohad permalink
    July 6, 2010 2:53 pm

    Still didn’t worked for me… :(
    any other solutions?

    im using XP,SP3. and trying to install MikTex 2.8.3553

    the error messege:
    An error occurred:
    source file: Libraries\MiKTeX\Core\Process.cpp
    source line: 296
    message: The operation failed for some reason.
    info: C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.8\miktex\bin\initexmf.exe

    • July 6, 2010 9:00 pm

      Do you have Acrobat Reader installed? :? This is usually the cause.

  11. ohad permalink
    July 6, 2010 9:31 pm

    yea,
    i tried with acrobat it and with it (i use Foxit usally), tried turning off the firewall, tried editing the registry,
    but it still happens…

    any ideas?

    • July 6, 2010 9:55 pm

      Hmm.. I have no idea what else conflicted the installation. If you have another machine (say, a laptop), you can experiment with it, e.g. installing MikTeX in a clean WinXP SP3. This way usually works for me but it’s time consuming.

      Sorry that I can’t help.

  12. Rain permalink
    July 24, 2010 9:28 pm

    I tried everything suggested, but still got the error:

    message: The operation failed for some reason.
    info: C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.8\miktex\bin\initexmf.exe

    Miktex2.7 was installed, but now I could not get it back because this error, and I can only install Miktex2.6 at this moment.

    • July 25, 2010 5:26 am

      Did you completely remove MiKTeX 2.8? , It’s been a long time since my first installation of 2.8, but I remember that I didn’t have that problem with the installed 2.7.

  13. September 8, 2010 5:32 pm

    I had difficulties while installing MikTeX 2.8.

    message: The operation failed for some reason.
    info: C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.8\miktex\bin\mpm.exe

    I had tried it many times, yet the same problem occurred. What should I do? I dont know the exact problem caused. I really appreciate if some help and guidance can be given. Thank you.

    • September 8, 2010 6:19 pm

      Hi, kj: It’s difficult for me to detect what went wrong in your installation. In my case, the problem was the conflict with Acrobat Reader, as the cases in many other users. If you have tried the method listed above and still cannot install MikTeX 2.8, try to see whether you can install MikTeX 2.7. 2.9 is coming soon now. I hope the new version won’t have installation problem as 2.8 does. Good luck!

  14. Maurice permalink
    October 19, 2010 11:55 am

    MikTeX 2.9 has the same issue. I removed Adobe PDF – and it installed.

    • October 19, 2010 12:11 pm

      I have stopped using Adobe Reader so it’s all right for me. Though I still think it’s odd that MikTeX team didn’t fix the bug in 2.9. :?

  15. November 10, 2010 9:41 pm

    I have problem like this (MikTeX 2.9 )
    problem: c:\programfiles\miktex\miMiKTeX209-core-PS.dll does not exist
    problem: c:\programfiles\miktex\MiKTeX209-core.dll does not exist
    problem: c:\programfiles\miktex\MiKTeX209-packagemanager-PS.dll does not exist
    problem: c:\programfiles\miktex\MiKTeX209-packagemanager.dll does not exist

    Please help me, what can I do..

    • November 10, 2010 10:04 pm

      I don’t know. I haven’t installed version 2.9 yet.
      Update: Just upgraded to 2.9. Didn’t have any problem. I would suggest to check your PDF reader first (see the above discussion).

  16. July 11, 2011 9:26 pm

    In my computer, I did Run regedt32.exe, then navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.pdf
    Rightclick .pdf, click permissions, but how can I grant the administrator full rights? In my case, my administrator is already allowed ‘full control’.

    Thanks!

    • July 11, 2011 9:36 pm

      If that still doesn’t help, then I don’t know.
      I simply don’t use Acrobat Reader (for a long time already).

      • July 22, 2011 10:43 pm

        Thanks.

        That problem is still on.

      • Victor permalink
        August 30, 2011 11:44 pm

        Hi from Costa Rica. My english is not very good.
        I downloaded setup-2.9.4250.exe
        and had the same problem : Windows Api Error 21 . . .
        Two ways
        1) If you have a previous Miktex version:
        Open “settings”, then “package”, and “change”.
        Choose “packages shall be installed from the internet” and try several pages until get success
        2)
        I created the folder D:\MikTex 2.9
        I moved the setup file in that folder
        and setup run perfectly.

        I don’t know if was good luck
        ————-*————–
        I have the 2.9 version, has 1GB size (it’s an .iso file)
        I can upload it in internet temporal folder.

  17. September 24, 2011 7:47 am

    when i tries to make “run” or “combile”
    it shows an error says:”initexmf.exe: Windows API error 32: ������� ��� ������� ������ ��� ����� ���� ��� ��������� �� ��� ����� ����.

    initexmf.exe: Data: C:\Users\win 7\AppData\Local\MiKTeX\2.9\miktex/data/le\99a0783621778779db47a3bdf19cd3f6.fndb
    miktex-xetex.exe: The operation failed for some reason.
    miktex-xetex.exe: Data: C:\Program Files (x86)\MiKTeX 2.9\miktex\bin\initexmf.exe

    is removing PDF solution for my problem?

    • September 24, 2011 9:22 am

      I’m not sure. If your system has Adobe Acrobat PDF reader, you can give it a try (i.e. uninstall PDF reader and reinstall again after MikTeX installation)

  18. September 24, 2011 9:58 pm

    yay it works, thanx alot :D

  19. hcn permalink
    November 23, 2011 11:46 am

    If you are not logged in as Admin..change the .pdf rights for the account you’re logged in with of course !

  20. bjb permalink
    December 6, 2011 1:32 am

    I had to change the folder permission settings to get it to work correctly on my machine (x64, Vista, SP2). Right click the installation folder (/Program Files (x86)/MiKTeX2.8/) and select “Properties”, then select the “Security” tab, select the user(s) from the list you wish to give permission to update MiKTeX, and then give the proper permissions, and approve the change by clicking “OK” for each window from there.

  21. Csaba Peterfalvi permalink
    February 2, 2012 2:54 pm

    I found a kind of solution, at least it worked for me with the basic distribution of Miktex 2.8. Install the basic(!) distribution by starting the setup file from within ProcessActivityView! It will take 6 or 8 hours, but this was the only way for me to succeed with the installation. http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/process_activity_view.html

  22. Thomas permalink
    March 23, 2012 9:59 am

    Hi, I had the same problems as described above with 2.9. I finally found a solution for me. I moved the installation file to root c: and changed the installation path during setup to c:program filesmiktex. Ran installation as administrator. After that the setup process worked like a charm. Good luck!

  23. Ambika permalink
    February 8, 2013 5:04 am

    installed miktex 2.9 but not able to access it(see the execution file)

  24. May 7, 2013 10:58 am

    I got the same problem. I’m running Windows XP SP3. After some trials, I installed MikTeX as All User, and it worked. You can check! Of course, it is not the good-enough solution, but i don’t know how to fit it

  25. Gabriel permalink
    December 12, 2013 7:30 am

    I was some problem, but now I unistall the Adobe and tried again. and It works!… I am using win xp (12/12/2013)

Trackbacks

  1. Installation problem Miktex 2.9 on Windows 7 at Nordt Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

